Retirees Recognized

Three faculty and staff retirees were recognized at this year’s Staff Holiday Lunch. Each were presented with a personalized memento commemorating their service and retirement. The keepsake features a picture of the school that includes well wishes from colleagues and students.  Because of the pandemic, they were previously recognized at a virtual event but it was wonderful honoring some of them in-person. Those included:

Sharon Codilla (38 years)
Senior dental assistant
Dental Faculty Practice

Lynn Prine (8 years)
Senior dental assistant
Radiology Clinic, Department of Oral Pathology, Radiology and Medicine

Dr. Richard Prine (DDS ’73, 26 years)
Clinical associate professor
Department of Restorative Clinical Sciences

Read more about their virtual retirement event and others that were recognized at

Fun Had by All at Festive Holiday Lunch

The School of Dentistry Staff Council and Dean Haas and hosted the annual holiday lunch for staff, faculty and retirees on Dec. 17.  Attendees were encouraged to wear their most festive wear and they did not disappoint. Everyone was treated to a delicious lunch as well as a selfie station, games, a raffle for door prizes, karaoke and numerous popular gift baskets donated by departments. Enjoy photos from the festivities.

Getting in the Fall SPIRIT

On Friday, October 29th, the School of Dentistry got into the spirit of fall by wearing costumes and elaborate hats. Residents and staff in Ortho came dressed as Cruella De’Ville, dalmatians, superheroes and the guards from Squid Game. Elsewhere, staff got festive by decorating hats and participated in the contest sponsored by the School of Dentistry Staff Council.

Hat Contest Winner:
Jennifer Brown, Department of Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics

Runners Up:
Monica Johnson, Department of Pediatric Dentistry
Sue Simonds, Advanced Educataion Program in General Dentistry
Verna Crowder, Clinic Dispensary

Find photos here.

Dental Students and Faculty Make a Great Team

TeamSmile outreach event provides much needed oral health care

Pearly whites were plentiful as well as Chiefs red at the TeamSmile event at Arrowhead Stadium on Oct. 26. Students from the UMKC School of Dentistry volunteered at the event, delivering much-needed dental care to 200 local elementary students.

Sponsored by the United Way, more than 40 students and faculty from UMKC participated, providing initial dental screenings, X-rays and recommendations for what care the kids would need that day. Each year, dentistry and dental hygiene students participate in three TeamSmile events: at the Kansas City Chiefs, Royals and Sporting KC.

Started in Kansas City, TeamSmile is a national advocacy group that works with professional and college sports teams to provide children in need with a life-changing dental experience. For those youngsters who may have a fear of the dentist, seeing their favorite athletes can help put them at ease. The friendly faces of UMKC students help, as well.

Since the organization’s inception in 2007, UMKC School of Dentistry students and faculty have volunteered their time with TeamSmile. The organization provides comprehensive care to the children who participate, from preventive care such as fluoride treatments and cleaning to extractions and root canals.

“We’re incredibly proud to have been involved with TeamSmile for over a decade,” said Becky Smith, one of the faculty members who accompanied the students at the event. “It gives our students the opportunity to hone their skills, provide dental care to some of our youngest citizens of Kansas City, and help instill the importance of volunteerism going forward.”

Photos here.

School Staff Hosts Breakfast to Welcome Dean Haas

As the School of Dentistry staff has navigated throughout the past 18 months, there have been many changes and we have all adjusted and kept moving along. In introduction and celebration, the new dean of the SOD, Dr. Steven Haas, treated the staff to breakfast and hosted a meet & greet. Special thanks to Racquel Adams—(acting president of SOD Staff Council), Stephanie Stewart-Towns—UMKC Staff Council representative, Alexander Zier—Dean’s Office, Jeff Primos—Director of Business Administration, and of course Dean Haas for all of the breakfast event arrangements. Thank you to all of the staff for participating to celebrate one another as such an awesome team!

Photos here.

Making Smiles

MAKING SMILES: These hygiene bags were decorated by Senior dental hygiene students in the Anchor 314 Course: Interdisciplinary Oral Health Field Experiences decorated these dental hygiene bags for children aged 3-5 at Operation Breakthrough. The children will receive the bags, as well as custom oral health presentations from the students. This is an annual project for students to showcase their ability to tailor their oral health communication and promotion strategies to any age. The children at Operation Breakthrough receive consistent support in accessing their best oral health from a local community partner! #RoosDo

UMKC Dental Alumni Association Hosts the New Students Welcome Game at “The K”

The UMKC Dental Alumni Association once again hosted an annual night at “The K” complete with tailgate and the game, which featured the Kansas City Royals hosting the Cleveland Indians.  Guests of honor were the DDS Class of 2024 and Dental Hygiene Class of 2022 as well as the DDS Class of 2024 and Dental Hygiene Class of 2022 who sadly missed out on the tradition when it was postponed because of pandemic-related limitations last year.  There was a great turnout students, staff, faculty and alums, and while the Royals lost, the event was a lot of fun!

Find photos here.


School of Dentistry and Health Sciences Students Enjoy Annual Lunch…on the Lawn

Students from all UMKC Health Sciences schools enjoyed the annual Lunch on the Lawn and Campus Connections event, Wednesday, September 1, sponsored by the university Office of Student Involvement. The weather was great for the event held in the open common area adjoining the University’s Health Sciences Building. In addition to a hearty picnic style buffet lunch, attendees also had the opportunity visit with campus resources and organizations at the Campus Connections Fair.

Photos here.


14 School of Dentistry Faculty Trained to be Vaccinators

THANKS to School of Pharmacy colleagues (from left) Steven Stoner, Cydney McQueen, Leslie Cooney (P4 student) and Cameron Lindsey for taking time out of their busy schedules to train 14 School of Dentistry faculty to be vaccinators. Tackling the pandemic has been a true Health Sciences Campus collaboration, from nursing faculty helping train more than 100 dental students to be vaccinators to this latest training of some of our faculty.

Photos here.