Scholarship Recipients and Donors Honored

The UMKC School of Dentistry held its annual Scholarship Recognition dinner Monday evening October 1, 2018, at Student Union on the Volker Campus. Assistant Dean Richie Bigham welcomed the audience and then Dean Marsha Pyle presided over the recognition of the scholarship donors and recipients. The School distributed 349 awards to 188 students from 171 endowed scholarship funds, totaling more than $993,000, an 8.17% increase over 2017. Additionally, 19 students received 25 awards from 15 regional and national scholarship funds. This year’s new scholarships included the Brown-Thompson Military Award Fund; Dr. S.V. Hanna Scholarship Fund; Jerome E. and Joan Holtzman DDS Scholarship; Bert W. Oettmeier, Jr., DDS and Mrs. Pamela G. Oettmeier Scholarship Fund; Dr. Ralph E. Younger and Mrs. Lynda L. Younger Scholarship Fund; The UMKC Class of 2002 Heidi Garren Everley Scholarship Fund, UMKC Dental Hygiene Alumni Association Diamond Scholarship.  Find photos from the event here.