Faculty and Staff

Clinical Programs

Connie White, D.D.S.
Interim Associate Dean for Clinical Programs
Assistant Dean for Community Relations and Communication and
Director of Patient Relations
Joint Appointment
Phone 816/235-2135
Email: whiteco@umkc.edu

Quality Assurance
Alison C. Louie, D.D.S.
Joint Appointment
Phone 816/235-5403
Email: louiea@umkc.edu

Team Coordinators

Team 1
Becky Smith, D.D.S
Phone 816/235-2148
Email: smithbeck@umkc.edu

Team 2
Eric Gottman, D.D.S., M.S.
Phone 816/235-2146
Email: gottmane@umkc.edu

Team 3
Michael Murphy, D.D.S., M.S., M.B.A.
Phone 816/235-2161
Email: murphymic@umkc.edu

Emergency Clinic
Steve Oakson, D.D.S.
Phone 816/235-2100
Email: oaksons@umkc.edu

Dental Public Health & Behavioral Science

Melanie Simmer-Beck, R.D.H., Ph.D.
Professor and Chair of the Department
Phone 816/235-6490
Email: simmerbeckm@umkc.edu

Kristine Cody, D.D.S.
Associate Professor and Director of External Relations
Phone 816/235-6744
Email: codykp@umkc.edu

John L. Cottrell, M.A.
Director of Minority and Special Programs
Phone 816/235-2085
Email: cottrellj@umkc.edu

David J. Thein, D.D.S., M.S. D.
Clinical Associate Professor and Practice Management Curriculum Director
Phone 816/235-5253
Email: theind@umkc.edu

Chris Van Ness, Ph.D.
Associate Research Professor and Director of Assessment
Phone 816/235-2130
Email: vannessc@umkc.edu

Meghan Wendland, D.D.S., M.P.H.
Associate Professor
Phone 816/235-2030
Email: meghanwendland@umkc.edu

Pamela R. Overman, Ed.D.
Professor Emarita
Email: overmanp@umkc.edu

Michael D. McCunniff, D.D.S., M.S.
Associate Professor Emaritus
Email: mccunniffm@umkc.edu

Bonnie S. Branson, R.D.H, Ph.D.
Professor Emarita
Email: bransonb@umkc.edu

Endodontics

Rebeca Weisleder, D.D.S.
Clinical Associate Professor and Chair of the Department
Phone: 816/235-2013
Email: weislederurowr@umkc.edu

Kenneth J. Frick, D.D.S., M.S.
Clinical Assistant Professore and Director of the Advanced Program
Phone 816/235-2749
Email: frickk@umkc.edu

Robert R. Edwards, D.D.S., M.S.
Clinic Assitant Professor
Phone 816/235-2092
Email: edwardsrr@umkc.edu

Jorge Vera, D.D.S., M.S., Ph.D.
Clinical Assistant Professor
Phone 816/235-6680
Email: verarojasj@umkc.edu

Oral and Craniofacial Sciences

Mark L. Johnson , Ph.D.
Professor and Chair of the Department and
and Director, UMKC Center of Excellence in the Study of
Dental and Musculoskeletal Tissues (CEMT)
Phone 816/235-2453
Email: johnsonmark@umkc.edu

Mary P. Walker, D.D.S., Ph.D.
Professor and Director of Graduate Research Programs
Joint Appointment
Phone 816/235-2825
Email: walkermp@umkc.edu

Erin Bumann, D.D.S., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Phone 816/235-6450
E-mail: bumanne@umkc.edu

Timothy Cox, Ph.D.
Endowed Professor of Musculoskeletal Tissues
Phone 816/235-2068
Email: coxtc@umkc.edu

Sarah L. Dallas, Ph.D.
Curator’s Distinguished Professor and
Lee M. and Willima Lefkowitz Endowed Professor
Phone 816/235-6295
Email: dallass@umkc.edu

Stefan Lohfeld, Ph.D
Assistant Professor
Phone 816/235-2015
Email: lohfelds@umkc.edu

Yong Wang , Ph.D.
Professor
Phone 816/235-2043
Email: wangyo@umkc.edu

Lynda Bonewald, Ph.D.
Professor Emarita
Email: bonewaldl@umkc.edu

J. David Eick, M.S., Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Email: eickj@umkc.edu

Jeffrey P. Gorski, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Phone 816/235-2537
Email: gorskij@umkc.edu

Carole McArthur, Ph.D., M.D.
Professor Emerita
Phone 816/235-2175
Email: mcarthurc@umkc.edu

Oral Pathology, Medicine and Radiology

Kenneth Abramovitch, D.D.S.
Professor and Chair of the Department
Phone 816/235-2664
Email: abramovitchk@umkc.edu

Michelle Briner Garrido, D.D.S.
Assistant Professor
Phone: 816/235-2014
Email: mbrinergarrido@umkc.edu

Tanya Gibson, D.D.S.
Associate Professor
Phone 816/235-2131
Email: gibsontm@umkc.edu

Tamara Hoffman, R.D.H.
Clinical Instructor
Phone: 816/235-2363
Email: benduret@umkc.edu

Aparna Naidu, D.D.S., M.S.
Clinical Associate Professor
Phone 816/235-6489
Email:  naidua@umkc.edu

Jerald O. Katz, D.M.D., M.S.
Professor Emaritus
Email: katzj@umkc.edu

Marsha A. Pyle, D.D.S., MEd
Professor and Dean Emerita
Email: pylem@umkc.edu

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and Hospital Dentistry

Brett L. Ferguson, D.D.S.
Chair of the Department
Phone 816/235-2073
Email: fergusonb@umkc.edu

Solon Ting-Yao Kao, D.D.S
Clinical Associate Professor and Vice-Chair of Oral Surgery & Hospital Dentistry
Phone 816/235-2121
Email: kaost@umkc.edu

Owen Lonergan, D.M.D., M.D.,M.P.H.
Clinical Assistant Professor
Phone: 816/235-2026
Email: lonergano@umkc.edu

Narayanan Sreenivasan, B.D.S., M.D.S
Clinical Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
Phone 816/235-2026
Email: sreenivasann@umkc.edu

Thomas A. Vopat, D.D.S.
Clinical Professor
Phone 816/889-3555
Email: vopatt@umkc.edu

Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics

Jean-Marc Retrouvey, D.M.D., M.Sc.
Professor and Chair of the Department
Phone: 816/235-2141
Email: jean-marc.retrouveyo@umkc.edu

R. Scott Conley, D.M.D.
Associate Professor and Director of the Advanced Education Program
Phone: 816/235-2151
Email: rsconley@umkc.edu

Amin Neishaboory, D.D.S., M.Sc.
Clinical Assistant and Professor
Phone: 816/235-2682
Email: amin.a.neishaboory@umkc.edu

Pediatric Dentistry

Brenda S. Bohaty, D.D.S., M.S.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Chair of the Department and Director, Advanced Program
Phone 816/235-2036
Email: bohatyb@umkc.edu

Eileen Cocjin, D.D.S.
Clinical Associate Professor
Phone 816/235-2145
Email: cocjine@umkc.edu

Juliana Redford, D.D.S.
Clinical Assistant Professor
Phone 816/235-2145
Email: redfordgj@umkc.edu

Paulette Spencer D.D.S., M.S., Ph.D.
Professor Emerita
Joint Appointment
Phone 816/235-2071
Email: spencerp@umkc.edu

Periodontics

Keerthana M. Satheesh, B.D.S., D.D.S. , M.S.
Associate Professor and Chair of the Department
Phone 816/235-2075
Email: satheeshk@umkc.edu

Simon R. MacNeill, B.D.S. Hons, D.D.S.
Professor and Interim Director of the Advanced Program
Phone 816/235-2119
Email: macneills@umkc.edu

Pierluigi Balice, D.D.S., M.D.S.
Clinical Assistant Professor
Phone: 816/235-2150
Email: balicep@umkc.edu

Chih-Yun (Lisa) Tao, D.D.S., M.S.
Clinical Assistant Professor
Phone 816/235-2100
Email:  cttnc@umkc.edu

Lorraine B. Rauckman, R.D.H, M.S.
Associate Professor
Phone 816/235-5733
Email: brockmannl@umkc.edu

Catherine D. Saylor-Boles, R.D.H., M.S.
Associate Professor
Phone 816/235-2131
Email: saylorcd@umkc.edu

Restorative Clinical Sciences

Cynthia S. Petrie, D.D.S., M.S.
Associate Professor and Chair of the Department
Phone: 816/235-2694
Email: petriec@umkc.edu

Lance Godley, D.D.S.
Clinical Assistant Professor and Vice-Chair
of the Department
Phone 816/235-2148
Email: godleyl@umkc.edu

John D. Ball, D.D.S.
Clinical Assistant Professor
Phone 816/235-5914
Email: balljd@umkc.edu

Tim Barry, D.D.S.
Clinical Assistant Professor
Phone 816/235-2100
Email: barrytm@umkc.edu

Daniel Ben Yehuda, D.D.S., M.S., F.A.C.P.
Clinical Assistant Professor
Phone 816/235-2035
Email: danielbenyehuda@umkc.edu

Shara Dunlap, D.D.S.
Clinical Professor
Phone 816/235-2194
Email: dunlapsm@umkc.edu

Caryn J. Ehrenberger, D.D.S.
Clinical Assistant Professor
Phone 816/235-2076
Email: bakercary@umkc.edu

Jared Gerhardt, D.D.S.
Clinical Assistant Professor
Phone 816/235-2116
Email: gerhardtj@umkc.edu

Eric Gottman, D.D.S.
Clinical Associate Professor and Coordinator, Team 2
Phone 816/235-6225
Email: gottmane@umkc.edu

Paul Hansen, D.D.S.
Clinical Professor
Phone: 816-235-6224
Email: hansenp@umkc.edu

Harlan Hassen,DDS
Clinical Assistant Professor
Phone: 816/235-2100
Email: hlhwn5@umsystem.edu

Robert Hurst
Clinical Assistant Professor
Phone: 816-235-6626
rehfcn@umkc.edu

Alison C. Louie, D.D.S.
Phone 816/235-5403
Email: louiea@umkc.edu

Susan Kessler, D.D.S.
Clinical Assistant Professor
Phone: 816/235-6682
Email: kesslersk@umkc.edu

Melynda Meredith, D.D.S.
Clinical Assistant Professor
Email: meredithmm@umkc.edu
Phone 816/235/6225

Michael Murphy, D.D.S., M.S., M.B.A.
Clinical Assistant Professor and Corrdinator, Team 2
Phone: 816/235-2161
Email: murphymic@umkc.edu

Tressa Parkinson, D.D.S.
Clinical Professor
Phone 816/235-6224
Email: parkinsontj@umkc.edu

Douglas A. Pearson, D.D.S
Clincical Assistant Professor
Phone: 816/235-2161
Email: pearsonda@umkc.edu

Thomas Russell, D.D.S.
Clincical Assistant Professor
Email: russellth@umkc.edu
Phone 816/235/2148

Becky M. Smith, D.D.S.
Clincical Professor and Coordinator, Team 1
Phone 816/235-2186
Email: smithbeck@umkc.edu

Yesim Stevens, D.D.S, M.S.
Phone 816/235-2047
Email: tunkucy@umkc.edu

Bhavika Thakkar,DDS
Clinical Associate Professor and Interim Assistant Director, Advanced Education in General Dentistry Program
Phone: 816-235-2100
Email: thakkarb@umkc.edu

Mary P. Walker, D.D.S., M.S., Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs
Phone: 235-2825
Email: walkermp@umkc.edu

Linda M. Wells, D.M.D., M.B.A.
Phone 816/235-2152
Email: wellslm@umkc.edu

Connie White, D.D.S.
Assocaite Professor and Interim Assistant Dean for Clinical Programs
Assistant Dean for Community Relations and Communication
Phone 816/235-2135
Email: whiteco@umkc.edu

Timothy Wezeman,DDS, MAT
Clinical Assistant Professor
Phone: 816/235-2100
Email: wezemantl@umkc.edu

Derek Williams, D.D.S., M.S.
Clinical Associate Professor
Phone 816/235/6682
Email williamsdere@umkc.edu

Division of Dental Hygiene

Tanya E. Villalpando, R.D.H., M.S.
Director of the Division and Graduate Program
Phone 816/235-2049
Email: villalpandot@umkc.edu

Lorie A. Holt, R.D.H., M.S.
Director of the Degree Completion Program
Phone 816/235-2057
Email: holtla@umkc.edu

Christina Baker, R.D.H., M.E
Clincial Assistant Professor
Phone 816/235-5828
Email: bakerchri@umkc.edu

Kimberly S. Bray, R.D.H, M.S.
Professor
Phone 816/235-2056
Email: brayk@umkc.edu

Liz Kaz, RDH, EdD
Clinical Associate Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Phone: 816/235-2061
Email: kazm@umkc.edu

Ashley Ryan, R.D.H.
Clincial Assistant Professor
Phone 816/235-2139
Email: ryanac@umkc.edu

Julie D. Sutton, R.D.H., M.S.
Associate Professor
Phone 816/235-2012
Email: suttonjd@umkc.edu

Cynthia C. Amyot, R.D.H., Ed.D.
Professor Emerita
Phone 816/235-2054
Email: amyotc@umkc.edu