Cynthia Amyot

Professor and Associate Dean for Instructional Technology and Faculty Development

Room 394

School of Dentistry

Phone: 816-235-2054


Dr. Amyot, Ed.D., serves as Associate Dean and Professor of Instructional Technology and Faculty Development, the University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC), School of Dentistry. Dr. Amyot has been a full-time faculty member at UMKC since 1993 serving two years as Interim Vice Provost of Online Education. She served three years as Director of Graduate and Degree Completion Studies and five years as Director of the Division of Dental Hygiene. She teaches at all levels of the curriculum; doctoral, predoctoral, graduate and undergraduate. Dr. Amyot has received numerous distinguished teaching awards from the School of Dentistry and is a recipient of the university wide Elmer Pierson Outstanding Teaching Award. In 2011 she was the recipient of the Missouri Distance Education Leadership Award from the Missouri Distance Learning Association. Dr. Amyot has served as co-chair of the UMKC School of Dentistry promotion and tenure committee and chair of the faculty development committee. Her research interests include: portfolio assessment of student competency, community-based service-learning, access to care and distance and online education. Her service to the university and profession is extensive. She served as Chair of the Council on Research for the American Dental Hygienists’ Association for several years. Dr. Amyot served as an educational consultant for the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation. She has held several offices in the UMKC Alumni Association and served on numerous committees throughout the university. Dr. Amyot is the recipient of the 2014 ADHA Alfred C. Fones Award, a national award recognizing outstanding achievement and dedication to the profession of dental hygiene.
She was named the recipient of the 2007 ADEA/William J. Gies Foundation Education Fellowship and was awarded the Pfizer/ADHA Award for Excellence in Dental Hygiene in 2004.