Dancing the Night Away in Support of Diversity

The 4th Annual Hospital Hill Harmony Gala

The UMKC Hospital Hill Diversity Council hosted its fourth annual Health Sciences Diversity Scholarship Dinner and Dance, Saturday, Feb. 10, 2018, at the UMKC Student Union located at 5100 Cherry. The goal of the event is to raise funds to support an endowed scholarship dedicated to attracting and retaining students of color in the four UMKC health professions schools (Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing and Pharmacy).

Tamica L. Lige, School of Pharmacy student and Hospital Hill Diversity Council Chair, served as the evening’s master of ceremony. In addition to the dinner and dance portions of the evening, four healthcare providers from dentistry, nursing, pharmacy and medicine were recognized and honored for their contributions to the community. The recipients of the Health Care Provider Diversity Awards were:

School of Dentistry: Clarence E, Simmons, DDS, presented by Chanelle Roberts, 2nd year DDS student;

School of Medicine: Stanley Augustine, MD, and Daphne Bascom, MD, PhD, presented by Taylor Carter, 5th year BA/MD student;

School of Nursing and Health Studies: Emeka Jacob Ogwudile, MS NM, PNHNP-BC, presented by Michael Baker, senior BHS student.

School of Pharmacy: No awardee.

Alaa Abdelhakiem, 3rd year PharmD student, as well as the aforementioned health professions student representatives shared their opinion on the benefits of the Hospital Hill Diversity Scholarship. John L. Cottrell, director of School of Dentistry Minority and Special Programs, delivered the evening’s closing remarks. Armando Diaz, School of Dentistry, provided photography services. Music was provided by Myron D, KPRS Hot 103 Jamz, and the program design was created by Jason Yates

The planning committee included co-chairs Tamica L. Lige, MA, and Jennifer Santee, PharmD, School of Pharmacy, and committee members John Cottrell, MA, School of Dentistry; Derek Williams, DDS, School of Dentistry; Michael Weaver, MD, Saint Luke’s Health System; Gabriel Flores, BA, MSM., Children’s Mercy; Susan Wilson, PhD, Office of Diversity and Inclusion; E. Nathan Thomas III, PhD, School of Medicine; Fariha Shafi, MD, School of Medicine; Viannella Halshall, MPH, CHES, School of Nursing and Health Studies; Susan Garrett, MPH, School of Nursing and Health Studies; Sally Ellis-Fletcher, PhD, RN,FNAP, School of Nursing and Health Studies.

Thanks to all who participated and supported this worthwhile and necessary endeavor.

Enjoy photos from the festivities.