Award Ceremony Honors Dental Hygiene 2021 Senior Scholars

The School of Dentistry’s annual Senior Scholarship Day celebrated the accomplishments of the Class of 2021 with awards and special presentations.

Among those honored were Katie Baker, whose awards included the Dean’s Academic Distinction Award, which goes to the student with the highest academic rank, and Christina Baker, assistant clinical professor and a graduate of the school, who won the Faculty Award.

Because of social distancing requirements, the May 3 event was live-streamed into a classroom at the School of Dentistry for the first-year dental hygiene students. Special guests included our interim dean, Russ Melchert; Assistant Dean Richie Bigham; and Desi Nuckolls from P&G Crest Oral-B, who announced student awards and scholarships.

The morning event also included presentations by the senior dental hygiene class, sharing their experiences in practicum rotations as well as highlighting portfolios and posters. The UMKC Dental Hygienists’ Association presented awards for poster winners and provided boxed lunches for all in attendance.

The Office of Student Programs provided decorations and a special treat for the event. The office of Biomedical Communications provided technical support. It was a special morning and one that won’t soon be forgotten!

The other awards:

Emily Murray won the Academy of Dentistry for Persons with Disabilities Award, presented to a graduating senior distinguished by demonstrating an active interest and concern for the dental needs of the handicapped and special patient.

Janine Osorio won the American Association of Public Health Dentistry Association of Public Health Dentistry Award, given to a senior dental hygiene student who has demonstrated a special interest or achievement in community dentistry and dental public health.

Brianna Mitchaner received the Colgate Oral Pharmaceuticals Star Award, for a graduating dental hygiene student who demonstrates dedication to the dental hygiene profession, enjoys the dental hygienist’s role, exhibits compassion in patient care and displays enthusiasm for community service.

Abby Eskina won the Golden Scaler Award, sponsored by the Hu-Friedy Co., which honors a graduating senior who has shown strong clinical skills.

Katie Baker also won the Missouri Dental Hygienists’ Association Award and, with Bailey Howard and Kathleen Nguyen, induction into the Sigma Phi Alpha National Dental Hygiene Honor Society, which accepts top students who have demonstrated character and leadership potential and dedication to scholarship and service.

Addison Quinlan won the Dental Hygienists’ Alumni Association Sherry Burns Outstanding Clinician Award, recognizing exceptional clinical skills, a solid theoretical base and commitment to high-quality patient care.

Nursyuhada Huq won the R. Lois Scott Scholarship, awarded by the Scholarship Selection Committee of the Alpha Gamma Chapter of Sigma Phi Alpha, and Brandie Simonsen won the Sigma Phi Alpha Annual Chapter Scholarship.

Among the junior students, Cinthia Ramos received the Procter and Gamble Crest Oral B Preventive Dentistry Hygiene Award, given to a junior dental hygiene student who demonstrated exceptional potential as a developing health professional.

Photos from the day’s events here.